Prizes – Hazel Rowley, Stella and more


The 2015 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship was won by Caroline Baum.  Baum, a freelance journalist, broadcaster and editorial director of Booktopia, will use the $10,000 fellowship to write a biography of Lucie Dreyfus, the wife of Alfred Dreyfus, who was falsely charged with treason in the late 19th century.

The Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship encourages a writing proposal by funding travel and research. The focus is on, but not restricted to, biography.

Read more about Baum’s win here at Books + Publishing.


The shortlist for the 2015 Stella Prize has been published, with the winner to be announced in late April.

The Stella Prize is a major literary award celebrating Australian women’s writing.  The prize is named after one of Australia’s iconic female authors, Stella Maria ‘Miles’ Franklin, and was awarded for the first time in 2013. Both nonfiction and fiction books by Australian women are eligible for entry.

The shortlisted books are:

  • Foreign Soil by Maxine Beneba Clarke (Hachette)
  • The Strays by Emily Bitto (Affirm Press)
  • The Invisible History of the Human Race by Christine Kenneally (Black Inc)
  • The Eye of the Sheep by Sofie Laguna (Allen & Unwin)
  • The Golden Age by Joan London (Random House)
  • Heat and Light by Ellen van Neerven (UQP)

Read an overview of each book on the shortlist here, at the Stella website.


For a useful list of other prizes, bursaries and fellowships try the Australian Historical Association.


Leave a comment - you know you want to

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s